24 It Was Simple

On May fifth, I was early. I usually am.

He was sitting in the window watching for me.

When he saw me a huge smile crept across his face. It made me feel shy and self conscious. I looked away and my eyelashes fluttered involuntarily. Again.

I waited in the street.

He came down to meet me.

We walked to the Gard d’Eau park and sat on the riverbank chatting and watching the occasional boat go by.

There was no flirtation, no build up, no suspense. He kissed me and I accepted.

I wasn’t ready. I didn’t know him. I didn’t know how well I liked him. I kissed him back.

Some people on a sightseeing boat whistled and waved.

I blushed.

He smiled.

Leave a Reply

